Table of Contents


Secrets of Chakra Healing for Emotional Wellness, A Journey From Wounds to Wisdom

The chakra system is an ancient network of energy centres in our body associated with various aspects of physical, emotional, and spiritual wellbeing.

The Chakra system provides us with a framework for understanding how our psychological patterns and experiences are stored within the body, providing a way to identify imbalances or blockages that might be holding us back. By exploring each chakra’s psychological aspect we can work toward healing any imbalances or blockages preventing progress; and offer yoga postures, breathing techniques, simple remedies and affirmations which will assist us to restore and balance them all. In this article we’ll take a deeper dive into their psychological aspect while offering some solutions and affirmations which can help heal or balance each chakra for maximum results!

Root Chakra (Muladhara)

The first chakra located at the base of your spine, known as Muladhara is associated with safety and security as well as connection to physical reality. A balanced root chakra makes us feel safe in our bodies while an imbalanced one could leave us anxious, fearful or disconnected from ourselves and society.

To soothe and balance the Root Chakra, consider practising yoga postures which emphasise grounding and stability, such as Mountain Pose (Tadasana) or Warrior I (Virabhadrasana I)

Breathing techniques that focus on exhalation, such as Kapalabhati (Breath of Fire) or deep diaphragmatic breathing, may also prove helpful.

Affirmations such as, “I feel safe and secure in my body” can help reinforce feelings of safety and security in an individual.

Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana)

The sacral chakra, located just beneath our navels, is associated with emotions, creativity and sexuality. When in balance, we feel passionate and creative while an imbalanced state may leave us feeling stuck or emotionally unstable.

To balance the sacral chakra, try yoga postures that focus on opening your hips – such as Pigeon Pose (Eka Pada Rajakapotasana) or Bound Angle Pose (Baddha Konasana)

Breathing techniques designed to facilitate emotional release and relaxation, such as the Lion’s Breath or Cooling Breath, may also be effective at balancing sacral chakra. Bhastrika from Belly can also provide assistance.

Affirmations such as, “I allow my creativity to flow freely” can help unleash our creative energy.

Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

The solar plexus chakra, located near our navels, is associated with our sense of personal power and self-esteem. When balanced properly, we feel powerfully in charge of our lives; when not balanced appropriately we may experience powerlessness or low self-esteem.

To heal our solar plexus chakra, yoga postures that focus on building core strength and stability such as Boat Pose, Plank Pose or Warrior III.

Breathing techniques that emphasise exhaling, such as Lion’s Breath (Simhasana Pranayama), may also prove beneficial.

Breath of Fire, a rapid breathing technique, may be particularly effective at stimulating solar plexus chakra and instilling feelings of empowerment.

Affirmations such as, “I honour the divine power within me” can help boost feelings of self-worth and promote positive associations between your words and actions.

Heart Chakra (Anahata)

The fourth chakra in our bodies, located at the centre of our chests, is associated with love, compassion, and feelings of connection to others. When balanced properly, we experience open-hearted feelings connected to others while when imbalanced may make us feel closed-off, alone, and disconnected from others.

To achieve balance within your heart chakra, try yoga postures which focus on opening your chest such as Camel Pose (Ustrasana) or Cobra Pose (Bhujangasana)

Breathing techniques that focus on inhalation, such as the Ujjayi Breath or Bhastrika (Breath of Fire) from Lungs or 4-7-8 breathing technique may also help balance your heart chakra.

Affirmations like, “I am open to giving and receiving love” can help strengthen feelings of compassion and intimacy between people.

Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

The throat chakra (Vishuddha) is the fifth chakra and located at the base of your throat. This energy centre relates to communication, self-expression, and speaking our truth; when balanced properly it allows us to express ourselves confidently while when misalignment arises it can make speaking up difficult or leave us feeling misunderstood.

To balance the throat chakra, try yoga postures that specifically target healing of the throat – such as Shoulder Stand (Sarvangasana) or Fish Pose (Matsyasana)

Breathing techniques that emphasise Ujjayi or Alternate Nostril Breathing (Nadi Shodhana) may also be effective.

Affirmations like, “I speak in an honest and loving manner to create beauty around me” can be powerful ways of reinforcing clear communication.

Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

The third eye chakra, commonly referred to as Ajna in Sanskrit, is the sixth chakra and located between our eyebrows. It represents intuition, inner wisdom and spiritual insight – when balanced we feel more attuned with our intuition and guidance while when off balance we may struggle making decisions or feel disconnected from inner wisdom.

As part of your yoga practice to balance the third eye chakra, try yoga postures that emphasise opening it, such as  Child’s Pose (Balasana) or Downward-Facing Dog (Adho Mukha Svanasana).

Breathing techniques that focus on holding the breath (such as alternate nostril breathing with breath retention (Kumbhaka) may also prove beneficial.

Affirmations such as, “I trust my intuition and inner guidance” can help strengthen our connection to our inner wisdom.

Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

The crown chakra, located at the crown of our heads, represents our spiritual connection and sense of oneness with nature and humanity. When balanced, we feel connected with something greater than ourselves while when disbalanced we may struggle to find meaning and purpose in life.

For optimal balance in the crown chakra, engage in yoga postures that create space at the crown of your head, such as Headstand (Sirsasana) or Mountain Pose with the hands raised (Urdhva Hastasana). 

Breathing techniques that focus on deepening the breath, such as Full Yogic Breath from Diaphragm and Bhramari (Humming bee), may also prove helpful.

Affirmations such as, “I am part of the universe and connected to all that exists” can help foster a sense of spiritual connection.

From a Traditional perspective, chakra systems provide us with an invaluable way of exploring our physical, energy, mental, wisdom and bliss bodies.

Focusing on the psychological aspect of each chakra while including yoga postures, breathing techniques and affirmations into our daily practice can help address any imbalances or blockages that are inhibiting us. Approach your practice with kindness and patience for best results. Trust that healing will take its own course.

Blessings Deep